There are some basic California state requirements that every driver seeking a California car insurance quote should know. Drivers should make sure that their car insurance policies are within the state requirements by following some simple and straight forward guidelines.
To legally drive a vehicle, state residents should show proof that they could take financial responsibility and cover the damages in the event of an accident. California thus, requires motorists to carry policies that secure compensation for injuries to other parties and/or damage to property. The state of California follows a Tort system meaning someone must be found at fault in the event of an accident. That person and the individual’s insurance company are required to be responsible for all damages caused. Proof of financial responsibility can be supplied by making a cash deposit of $35,000 with the state DMV or by obtaining a self-insurance certificate from the state DMV. Alternatively drivers can provide proof, by obtaining a surety bond of $35,000 or by purchasing a motor vehicle liability insurance policy.
For people who choose to buy the liability insurance policy, the minimum liability coverage required by the state is $15,000 for injury or death of one person, $30,000 for injury or death to more than one person per accident and $5,000 for damage to property. The bodily damage liability figures mean that in an accident, if one person is injured that person would receive $15,000 and if two people are injured, they would receive a total sum of $30,000 or $ 15,000 each. If more than two people are injured, whoever files first has access to the $30,000. The driver might be charged for the rest if found at fault in the accident. However, liability coverage limits apply on a per accident basis.
Proof of Financial Responsibility
Once the policy is purchased, the insurer is required to notify the DMV. Insurers are also required to inform the DMV if the policy has been cancelled or lapsed. The DMV would, upon notification, cancel the vehicle’s California registration until they receive proof that the coverage is reinstated. The vehicle’s registration will be cancelled if the liability insurance policy isn’t renewed within 45 days of it being cancelled. If the insurer fails to provide evidence of insurance within 30 days after the issuance of a California registration card, on a car that wasn’t previously registered in California, or if the insured has submitted false evidence of insurance, the registration will be cancelled. Also, if car owners can’t provide proof of financial responsibility when stopped by a peace officer, they will receive a traffic ticket and would have to go through the court system to clear the citation off their driving record.
Drivers are required to be residents of the state to be able to buy car insurance in California. They should also have a valid California driver’s license for proof.
The above state requirements have to be met for a driver to get a California car insurance quote. These requirements ensure that California roads are safe. All drivers should thus ensure that their car insurance policies fall within the requirements of the state laws.